Iota Psi Omega, a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, is located in Athens, Georgia, approximately 65 miles from the state capitol of Atlanta.

Chartered in 1973, the charter members of Iota Psi Omega organized to form a chapter that would serve the greater Athens area through the International Program Targets of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and improve the lives of the citizens in the area.

Iota Psi Omega is very active in serving the community through several signature programs, including the Ivy Affair Benefit Gala (annually held in December), an annual coat drive and the Little Miss Fashionetta Scholarship Pageant. Additionally, Iota Psi Omega has partnered with other local organizations to hold health fairs and raise money for breast cancer research. Chapter members work diligently to raise funds for scholarships for deserving high school seniors and strive to perpetuate the motto of Alpha Kappa Alpha, “service to all mankind.”

The History of Iota Psi Omega

Charter  Members

Mary Allen*

Joyce Anthony

Juanita Floyd

Deborah Green

Constance Hill*

Rita Morgan

Martha A. Ross

Ruby Suldon*

Patricia Thornton

Marilyn Perry

Frances Lumpkin Weems

Betty Brown Williamson

Patricia Willis

Evelyn Wright



*denotes deceased

Past Presidents

Marilyn Baker Perry, 1973-1974

Patricia Willis, 1975-1976

Joan Antone, 1977-1978

Constance Hill*, 1979-1980

Starr K. Morrow*, 1981-1982

Betty Brown Williamson, 1983-1984

Janet Jordan, 1985-1986

Martha Gilree, 1987-1988

Sharon Baker, 1989-1990

Louise Wilcox*, 1991-1992

Evelyn Wright, 1993-1994

Margaret Jordan, 1995-1996

Linda Parks McGee, 1997 & 1998

Shirley McDuffie Taylor, 1999-2000

Ardessa Rodgers*, 2001-2002

Angela Jackson Hardeman, 2003-2004

Marilyn Woodruff, 2005-2006

Kena Miller Worthy, 2007-2008

Jennifer Scott, 2009-2010

Amy Waddell, 2011-2012

Ava Antone Weaver, 2013-2014

Tiffany Wright Alexander, 2015-2016



*denotes deceased 

Sorors of  Distinction



Joan Antone

Shirley McDuffie Taylor

Betty Brown Williamson



Mary Morrison Clark

Martha Gilree

Angela Jackson Hardeman

Gail Hurley Iglehart

Constance Jeffreys

Charlene Johnson Jordan

Janet Robinson Jordan

Margaret Jordan

Linda Parks McGhee

Ruby Brown Perry

Pearl Powell

Bertha Troutman Rambeau

Angela Perry Thomas

Marilyn Miller Woodruff



Joan Antone

Mary Morrison Clark

Martha Gilree

Constance Jeffreys

Janet Robinson Jordan

Linda Parks McGhee

Pearl Powell

Betty Brown Williamson

Marilyn Miller Woodruff

 Last Updated: December 11th, 2021                                            EXEMPLIFYING EXCELLENCE THROUGH SUSTAINABLE SERVICE                                                        South Atlantic Region

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the content displayed on this website. It is the sole property and responsibility of the Iota Psi Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.

View our Privacy Policy